Yes, the iPhone 5 has 1GB of RAM

Discussion in 'Latest Tech News and Rumors' started by Tkf1, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,400
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Apple_A6_Chip.jpg

    The newly announced (and soon to be released) iPhone 5 has raised scrutiny at the moment due to the question of "how much Random Access Memory does it have"? Fret not! It sports a mega-whopping, tonnage of 1GB of Random Access Memory.

    The highlighted part of the image lists part number "K3PE7E700F-XGC2". Each highlighted E7 refers to a separate 4 GB LPDDR2 die. The A6 features a dual-channel LPDDR2 memory interface, thus requiring two 32-bit die for both channels. 4 GB X 2 = 8 GB = 1 GB of Samsung LPDDR2 RAM.

    [​IMG]

    Now, both of these processors have the same markings (made by Samsung) and can be found in the Samsung Galaxy SIII (also 1 GB of RAM) branded as Samsung Exynos 4412. Clocked at 1.6 GHz. So what's the iPhone 5's clock speed?

    "K3PE7E700F-XGC2" the last two characters refer to the clock speed. The iPhone 4S was [under]clocked at 800 Mhz. "K3PE4E400B-XGC1" was the A5's part number. E4 refers to 2 Gb LPDDR2 die and because A5 features a dual-channel LPDDR2 memory with two 32-bit die. 2 GB x 2 = 512 mb of RAM. C1 was the clock speed which was 2.5ns which indicates a 400MHz clock frequency. Two channels result in the A5 clock speed of 800MHz. So the A6 has C2 which is 1.9ns which indicates a 533 MHz clock frequency. 533 x 2 is ~1066 GHz*. With that said, the A6 sports a dual-core CPU with quad-core graphics and it is 2x faster than iPhone 4S's A5 CPU. Apple new A6 processor is also using next generation ARM Cortex A15 cores, making it the first smartphone with this technology. It is also reported that the A6 shares the same SGX543 GPU (also quad-core) from the iPad 3′s A5X. But only a tear down will confirm that.

    [​IMG]

    When the iPad was first announced Steve Jobs said: "We have a chip called A4, which is our most advanced chip we've ever done that powers the iPad (and now everything else AX). It's got the processor, the graphics, the I/O, the memory controller -- everything in this one chip, and it screams."

    Yes, the iPod touch 5th generation has 512 mb of RAM. Clocked at 800 MHz as well.

    BOM (bill of materials) also suggests 1 GB of RAM.

    [​IMG]

    *Wait for the benchmarks to confirm. A teardown will further confirm this.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
    Del, blunden, Kiks52 and 1 other person like this.
  2. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,483
    Likes Received:
    4,460
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I wonder how much RAM the new iPod Touch has...
  3. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Tkf1 likes this.
  4. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,400
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Device:
    iPad mini
    "Yes, the iPod touch 5th generation has 512 mb of RAM. Clocked at 800 MHz as well."

    I see you read the post.
    MJeto7 likes this.
  5. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,483
    Likes Received:
    4,460
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I thought it said iPhone, I have a lot on my mind, sorry... :(
  6. TOT_tomdora

    TOT_tomdora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    277
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Well, I will definitely be getting one of the new iPod touches as soon as I can sell my 4th gen. Hopefully I can sell 32Gb in good condition for $250.
  7. Aarix

    Aarix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    The a5x is just a 3rd wheel it seems
    Tkf1 likes this.
  8. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,483
    Likes Received:
    4,460
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Can't wait for the iPad to get the A6!!!
  9. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,400
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Device:
    iPad mini
    It pretty much does. But I'm certain the iPad 4 will be quad-core.
  10. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,483
    Likes Received:
    4,460
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Theoretically the A6 is a quad-core...

Share This Page