Yes! its fixed!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by gojohnnyboi, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Oh my goodness! I fixed my iPod! Yes!


    i couldn't have done it without the patience and willingness to help from these 2 guys right here:



    Tyr0 and Mortel

    Thanks a million guys i owe u!



    Also a warning to all. I tried dual booting, and the first time i did it, i had success. Everything was well. Then i got confused with something and completely messed it up....SOOO


    the moral of this story here is....i highly recommend staying away from dual booting, as it can kinda be unstable and very confusing...SUPER ADVANCED USERS ONLY! Plus, wen i did have it, it really wasn't that exciting....


    so if u every "brick" ur ipod, give those two guys up there a shout.


    Thanks everyone,

    Gojohnnyboi
    1 person likes this.
  2. stevenplanet

    stevenplanet Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    ARe you 14??? IM 14!!!! YEAH 14 YR OLDS!!!!!
  3. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Glad to hear you finally got it working. ^_^

    Edit: Now, if the same thing happens to you as what happened to me, your iPod might freeze on boot more than it used to, and I have a fix for that.

    After a clean restore, download jiggy runtime and Jiggy.
    Go on your computer, go to the IP that Jiggy provides, etc.
    Make an application with this code:
    Code:
    Plugins.load( "UIKit" );
    
    var window = new UIWindow( UIHardware.fullScreenApplicationContentRect );
    window.setHidden( false );
    window.orderFront();
    window.makeKey();
    window.backgroundColor = [ 0 , 0 , 0, 1 ];
    
    var mainView = new UIScroller();
    mainView.contentSize = [ window.bounds[ 2 ] , window.bounds[ 3 ] ];
    mainView.backgroundColor = [ 0 , 0 , 0 , 0 ];
    
    window.setContentView( mainView );
    
    var disk0p1 = new UIPushButton([20, 20, 50, 40]);
    disk0p1.title = "disk0p1";
    
    disk0p1.onPressed = function() {
      var cmdline = generate_cmd_line(1);
      executeShellCommand(cmdline);
    }
    
    mainView.addSubview( disk0p1 );
    
    var disk0p2 = new UIPushButton([100, 20, 130, 40]);
    disk0p2.title = "disk0p2";
    
    disk0p2.onPressed = function() {
      var cmdline = generate_cmd_line(2);
      executeShellCommand(cmdline);
    }
    
    mainView.addSubview( disk0p2 );
    
    var disk0p3 = new UIPushButton([20, 60, 50, 80]);
    disk0p3.title = "disk0p3";
    
    disk0p3.onPressed = function() {
      var cmdline = generate_cmd_line(3);
      executeShellCommand(cmdline);
    }
    
    mainView.addSubview( disk0p3 );
    
    var disk0p4 = new UIPushButton([100, 60, 130, 80]);
    disk0p4.title = "disk0p4";
    
    disk0p4.onPressed = function() {
      var cmdline = generate_cmd_line(4);
      executeShellCommand(cmdline);
    }
    
    mainView.addSubview( disk0p4 );
    
    function generate_cmd_line(partid) {
      var rtv = "";
      var partition = partid - 1;
      rtv += "/usr/sbin/nvram boot-partition=" + partition + " && ";
      rtv += "/usr/sbin/nvram boot-args='rd=disk0s" + partid + "' && ";
      rtv += "/usr/sbin/nvram auto-boot=true && ";
      rtv += "/bin/sync && ";
      rtv += "/sbin/reboot";
      return rtv;
    }
    
    Then, enter that application, and tap disk0p1 (DO NOT TAP ANYTHING ELSE).
    After it reboots, you shouldn't have a problem with the Apple logo getting stuck on boot anymore.
    Also, I don't know if this has to do with it, but if you have the problem with the frozen Apple logo on boot, try setting your iPod to boot in verbose mode:

    Code:
    nvram boot-args="-v"
  4. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    lol yeah im 14. woo!
  5. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Woot...

    Congrats.

    Damn, theres a lot of 14 year old here, and im one of them...
  6. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Heh, I'm 14 also.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    @ gojohnnyboi: Only do what I posted above if your iPod has trouble booting successfully in the future due to all of this.
  7. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55


    thanks. i haven't had any "booting" troubles so far, but it keeps freezing on me and itunes "cannot read from the disk", so im guessing its still on disk0s3? well, thanks ill try that. im a jiggy dev anyways lol maybe ill spice the app up a bit....or not lol
  8. *Bp

    *Bp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
  9. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Mortel, did you ever test out the code i made for the boot so theres no disk0p2 and disk0p4?
  10. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Yea, most likely explanation is that it's still on disk0p3.
    For me, it was on disk0p2, which if I'm correct, had nothing on it except the bootloader I guess? So I might have had different side effects than you.

Share This Page