Xbox 360 is loud.

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by jimbeam, Mar 17, 2010.

1. jimbeam

jimbeam Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    It sounds like an electrical transformer or a server room. Maybe not that loud, but definitely a similar sound. Even after installing my games to the hard drive it is still pretty loud. I have a 1000 watt surround sound system and I'd have to piss my neighbors off to completely drown the 360 noise out.

Is this normal? I'm new to xbox and if my PS3 made that much noise I'd be concerned, that thing barely makes a sound. I read that the xbox is loud, but never thought it would be this loud.
  2. TakenAppleDownAPeg

TakenAppleDownAPeg Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the xbox is loud since its design has all the main heat creating components next to each other, you could either buy a inter-cooler that plugs into an outlet instead of the USB on the 360 because that will cause it's components harder, or you could make one out of a few super quiet PC fans.
  3. jimbeam

jimbeam Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Spend even more money on this thing? I'll pass and just deal with it. I'll just move it behind my sub or the center speaker. Hopefully that will soften the noise a little.

Edit: just noticed I put this in the wrong section. Sorry.
  4. KeneticSight

KeneticSight New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yah they are loud but you get used to it and u dont even notice it is there after a while (like 2 months)
  5. Slasher115

Slasher115 Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You could try buying a cooling device or put a fan next to it.
  6. jimbeam

jimbeam Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I don't think it's a heat issue. It's just as loud after an hour or so of game play as it is when I just turn it on after being turned off for 20 hours. I think it's just the internal fan. It's just loud in general.