Would this work? ipod to 500Gb storage unit?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pablojrz, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. Pablojrz

    Pablojrz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok if i bought a 500GB storage unit could i connect it to my ipod through a USB cable and get the that storage through iFile or something?????
  2. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
  3. NinjaBurrito

    NinjaBurrito New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Tsukoi

    Tsukoi New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Nope x3.
  5. WeetaBiXie

    WeetaBiXie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Yes, if that storage unit is connected to a computer
  6. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Nope x5
    (I can't count)
  7. Kishiyama Daikogi

    Kishiyama Daikogi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    iTouch probably could never even recognise it so nope x7
    (im assuming SmexyPenguin18 can count)
  8. themaster2443

    themaster2443 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    16
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Nope x8
    (ps. Thought of the same idea except with a 64gb stacked flash from a broken ipod touch)
    (pss. Also had the same idea with boosting the processor and ram by hyperthreading it through the 30 pin connection, found out all apple hardware has its own independent communication code it uses to pair up with the other hardware and chips in the device. In simpler words, all the other parts of the device won't be speaking the same language as the storage unit)
  9. Draco_Red

    Draco_Red Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Yeah, as mentioned above USB connection wouldn't work. Presumably if you got a network attached storage you would be able to mount it using terminal if your device was connected to the same network. But really that would be a lot of bother for not too much reward.
  10. fly1ngguitar

    fly1ngguitar Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch

Share This Page