Would This Method Work to Jailbreak Without WiFi?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by c3ntury, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. c3ntury

    c3ntury New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Im currently stuck using a 3G Dongle for internet, and i have a new computer so i have been pondering howto jailbreak my iPod, and install Cydia and its apps without any WiFi needed.

    I have a 2G iPod Touch, running 3.1.2 firmware.

    Heres my plan -

    Use RedSn0w to jailbreak, since it doesnt require any other downloads, it has Cydia built into the jailbreak itself.

    Then use Cyder to install the Cydia Apps i require.

    No WiFi on my iPod required! But is Cyder compatabile with 3.1.2 firmware and will it work on my iPod? Oh and most importantly.. will my plan work d'ya think?

    Thanks,
    Cameron.

    P.S Sorry if i am posting in the wrong section, i am a bit of a n00b.
  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I'm pretty sure Cyder will work so your whole plan should work

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    wait. doesn't cyder put the package in the auto-install, and when cydia turns on it downloads and installs it automatically?
  4. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, I believe Cyder locates and downloads the .deb file on your computer then you can SSH it into your iPod and install it.
  5. c3ntury

    c3ntury New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Does that mean my plan wont work ? :O :'(
  6. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I'm pretty sure it'll work, as long as your 3G dongle works on your computer.
  7. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    yeah. but he still needs mobileterminal to install it.

    and haha LOL. dongle. its funny cuz it sounds wrong. xD
  8. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    No, he can install through iFile. Or put it in the auto-install folder.
  9. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    yes. so...yeah. ur plan will prob work.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. c3ntury

    c3ntury New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    BRILLIANT!

    Whats the mobileterminal? & whats iFile?

    Could you explain the jargon please?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page