Would Restoring To a Custom Firmware Change Mac Address On 2g

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by kzr22, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. kzr22

    kzr22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    hi guys the network at my school hasnt been working for ipods lately and im guessing its mac adress related so as you know the mac adress on 2gs is locked and it wasnt working for me or my friend but then he restored to a custom firmware and now it works. How is this possible?

    Im guessing its mac adress related but idk. Hes going to give me the firmware is it worth a shot? I dont wanna restore for nothing

    BTW dont tell me not to do this because there is no security on the schools wifi and they NEVER said not to use it and it used to work and also dont tell me spoofmac cause that doesnt work for 2gs or any other scripts

    Thanks Guys what do yah think?
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the MAC address is a unique ID to your ipod, cant just completely change it, you can partly spoof it on some devices tho
  3. kzr22

    kzr22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    thx for the update but i have a huge problem now i get operation invalid argument at my house to after resetting network settings!!!!! idk what to do!
  4. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    try rebooting?
  5. Johannes Deegen

    Johannes Deegen Community Development

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ^change mac address? did ya get caught doing something illegal?

Share This Page