would it be possible to enable the fm tuner?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by killerjak7, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. killerjak7

    killerjak7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    would it be possible? there was a team back before bluetooth came out that enabled it.
  2. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    hm...the chip supports it but dunno whether it is connected or not - and: there has to be a connection to the dockconnector or headphone jack otherwise fm can't work - you'll need an atenna and this usually is a cable - I doubt that an antenna is built-in =/
  3. Krunk_Kracker

    Krunk_Kracker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Don't most players use the headphones as an antenna?
  4. msami4

    msami4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    How is it done ? Using which player

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. Krunk_Kracker

    Krunk_Kracker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have a Zen Micro that has a FM tuner that uses the headphone wire as an antenna. I was just saying that may be a way the ipod would do it.
  6. austers

    austers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    456
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Most if not all phones use headphones as antennas for fm radio.
  7. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    that IS indeed right but the FM chip needs to be connected in any possible way (direct, through the circuit board, wireless,...) with the antenna - so if the headphone jack isn't linked up with the chip it can't use it as an antenna =/

Share This Page