Would I notice a difference?

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by eric_chaos, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I currently have an AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6ghz CPU.

    Would buying an AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1ghz CPU make a noticable difference in speed?
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hhmmm. I think it may.

    Not too sure, though, since you're already at 2.6GHz.
    Have you searched for any benchmarks?
  3. InaudibleWhisper

    InaudibleWhisper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Depends what you use your computer for. It seems a bit pointless, I'd rather save and do a much bigger upgrade.
  4. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The thing is, thats the most powerful CPU my motherboard can handle.

    I'm considering getting a new mobo instead.
  5. Led

    Led Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd get a new motherboard like you said then getting a new processor and other parts, should you wish to upgrade them.
  6. ipodtouchedme

    ipodtouchedme New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    save up and go for a quad core, if you use photoshop or 3d modeling programs the speed is noticeably, and if not it is still going to give you better performance in the end.
  7. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    6000+ is 3Ghz. It is kinda slow, but faster than what you got I guess.
    You can go 6400+ (3.2GHz)
  8. Ex-Touch

    Ex-Touch New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Dude, 2.0 GHz is fast. I don't know what you're smoking saying 3.0 is 'kinda slow.'

Share This Page