Working WinSCP

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by zatchzeno, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. zatchzeno

    zatchzeno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hello, i have noticed that many people have problems with WinSCP. And i know how to fix them.

    First.
    What you need to do....

    1. WinSCP installed on Windows.
    2. iPod with installer.
    3. In installer install....
    a. BSD Subsystem
    b. OpenSSH
    c. Services
    d. Terminal-vt100 (troubleshooting.)
    4. Reboot iPod. Go into settings/general and make sure auto-lock is on NEVER.
    5. Go into Serivices.
    6. Make SURE BOTH SSH SLIDES ARE ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    7. Go into Terminal-vt100
    8. type ssh
    Home Screnn
    9. Go into settings, then wi-fi.
    10 Make sure you are connected.
    11. Tap the blue arrow next to the network you are connected to....
    12. Look at your IP Address............... (stay on this page)

    13 IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!! In windows go in the command prompt. Type ipconfig.
    compare the IP address of our iPod and the computer. THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS MUST BE THE SAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the subnet mask should be too.

    WinSCP
    1. Load it.
    2. In the window that pops up.
    a. Type the IP address of your IPOD into the host address.
    b. For username type root, and for password type alpine.
    c. Wait
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IIIIIIIIIMMMMMMMMMMMMMMPPPPPPPPPPPPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRTTTTTTTTTTTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WinSCP might not connect on the first time. Try again. If it persists.
    1. Go into Terminal-vt100.
    2. Type passwd.
    3. Enter new password.
    Be careful you cannot backspace.

    Any more problems, post.
  2. Fatfrank

    Fatfrank New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    wow

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    nice write-up, thx for taking the time to share with the community
  3. damaun

    damaun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did what you suggested and it didnt help my problem. What else can I do?
  4. zatchzeno

    zatchzeno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    what is your problem
  5. damaun

    damaun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cannot access my ipod. I keep getting a "server unexpectedly closed network connection" message. Im pretty sure I followed your guide to the letter. And to make things worst I accessed my ipod yesterday and all i did today was add a few apps. And now it wont let me in.
  6. zatchzeno

    zatchzeno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    if you are connected to your computer, disconnect.
    trying restarting both your iPod and your computer.
  7. zatchzeno

    zatchzeno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    oh yeah.
    make sure the SSH sliders in services are on. That error meesage is because that SSH is not on.
    or that the iPod keeps losing wi-fi....
  8. damaun

    damaun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have both sliders on andd its still not working
  9. zatchzeno

    zatchzeno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Are the first 3 IP address numbers of both your computer and iPod the same.
    192.168.3.xxx
    192.168.3.xxx
    otherwise, it will not work.
  10. damaun

    damaun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are the same

Share This Page