Wont turn on

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Rbenz01, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. Rbenz01

    Rbenz01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    Here's my deal. Got the new ipod touch, 2nd gen. Downloaded the most current version of itunes. Plugged in my USB and nada is coming up. I pushed the home button and a screen that has a picture of a USB cord and the itunes icon came up. I have tried the reboots (pushing down the standby and home button) and I have been to the apple website with no luck coming from there.

    Also, when I hold the Home button for a few seconds, the "New Hardware Wizard" opens, but can not find any software for the itouch.

    I don't think it's being charged at all.

    Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks and Happy Holidays!

    Ryan
  2. -tcq42-

    -tcq42- Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    What operating system do you have?
  3. Rbenz01

    Rbenz01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good call... I checked that out too.

    I have Windows 2000 Service Pack 4, which according to my research, should be compatible.

    Thanks and please help!
  4. ParrotBoy

    ParrotBoy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    ... Did you actualy do any research? On the back of the box it says "requires windows xp sp2 or later"
  5. williamfrench1

    williamfrench1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    my new ipod touch 2G was the same when we opened it this morning and got the same USB cable -> iTunes on the screen. To actually turn the device on we found it was nothing more that clicking the button at the top of the ipod touch twice in a row and everything came up.
  6. Rbenz01

    Rbenz01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I was worried about that myself. But according to the apple website, you can use windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (which I have) or the newer.

    I also tried pushing the sleep button twice and that same screen came on. (With the USB and itunes icon)

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks!
  7. iamkewl

    iamkewl Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I just looked at my box..You have to have Xp or newer
  8. Jack Bauer

    Jack Bauer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Did you plug it in? and follow steps on screen

Share This Page