Wirelessly Mount iPod Touch to Your Desktop

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Scottjohn, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. Scottjohn

    Scottjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    i having a slight problem with this i have ipod touch to desktop looking through say Library/Summerboard/Themes in finder so library is fine as is Media folder but the trouble i having is that Media_sym is showing my HD and not the ipod touch hmmm anyone ?
  2. Eclipse8800

    Eclipse8800 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    its not very clear on wat u're saying. could you tell us in a different way?
  3. Scottjohn

    Scottjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have my ipod touch mounted to my desktop so i can go through files & folders without using cyberduck SFTP whot i normaly use, the folder in question is the Media_sym folder in my finder it showing my home Mac HD rather than the folder and files it meant to show on the ipod touch using SFTP,
  4. Scottjohn

    Scottjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just done a search on forum and thought this was on here i cant seem to find it so here goes

    On mac osx -
    download mac fuse
    http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/


    download SSHFS filesystem extension
    http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/downloads/detail?name=sshfs-0.3.0.dmg&can=2&q=


    in installer install - OpenSSH on the touch

    Instal MacFuse on mac - Reboot Mac

    Install sshfs to apps folder on mac (it doesnt matter where)


    launch sshfs
    enter ur ipod touch IP in Server :
    Username : root

    Password : alpine

    ur ipod touch will be mounted to ur mac wireless on desktop and in ur finder

    sorry in advance if this has been posted already .
  5. Jellicle

    Jellicle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    > Password : alpine

    Only if you didn't change it when you were finishing up your jailbreak. Changing it makes sense as your iPod will be open to anyone on a shared wifi network who knows the now commonly-known default password for hacked (and hackable) iPod touchs.
  6. Scottjohn

    Scottjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    yip but i assume the person would know this ty for pointing it out thou ,

    i still have same problem with the Media_sym not showing as it should anyone ?
  7. Eclipse8800

    Eclipse8800 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    where is the option of changing the password?
  8. Scottjohn

    Scottjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install the BSD Subsystem package from Installer.app as well as the Term-vt100 package. You may have to install the "Community Sources" package before you can "see" either of these options in the list.
    Launch Term-vt100.
    At the # prompt, type "passwd" (without the quotes) and press return.
    Enter your new password and confirm it.
    DON'T LOSE YOUR NEW PASSWORD! If you do, in order to log into your touch from SSH or SFTP you will have to do a restore and start this process all over again.
  9. Eclipse8800

    Eclipse8800 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    thanx u heapz

Share This Page