WINSCP says "Access Denied" with root/alphine!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Quadrant, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. Quadrant

    Quadrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I recently updated my iPod Touch to OS 3 and re-jailbroke it. I'd been using WinScp and iPhone Tunnel to SSH into my iPod previously, but I'd heard about iPhone Tunnel issues with 3.0. So I just decided to SSH through Wi-Fi. Here's exactly what I did:

    1. Download OpenSSH from Cydia (some crazy tutorial suggested I uninstall OpenSSH...)
    2. Turn Auto-Lock to "Never" (so the Wi-Fi connection won't quit midway through the process)
    3. Turn SSH and Wi-Fi on via SBSettings
    4. Open WinSCP, click on "New", and for "Host Name" I put my IP Address and for user and password I put root and alphine.
    5. I hit Login, and it comes up with, after "connecting to host", it says "Authenticating with pre-entered password" and then "Access denied" and prompts me to type out the password.

    What am I doing wrong? Is there a new password for OS 3 or something?
  2. bluucrayonz

    bluucrayonz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    its ALPINE, not ALPHINE lOl
  3. Quadrant

    Quadrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Oh..my...god...I'm such an idiot. Omg. I kept on thinking of "Alphine" because it's so much more common. LOL thanks so much

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Edit: I meant "Alphine" is a more commonly used word than "Alpine". My brain just automatically inserted that extra h.
  4. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I've never heard of 'Alphine' before. Also, it's a good idea to change the root password, in case it falls into the wrong hands.
    In mobileterminal, type:

    Code:
    passwd root
    Then enter the new password in the resulting prompt.
  5. Quadrant

    Quadrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ^ Question: If I change the root password, and then later restore my iPod, will the password be changed back to "alpine"?
  6. SimonTheSnowman

    SimonTheSnowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes yes it will.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Quadrant

    Quadrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    When I type in "passwd root" in Terminal, it says "Permission denied."

Share This Page