winpwn firmware not working

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by ipodgamez, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. ipodgamez

    ipodgamez Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    51
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    okay i am tryin to jailbreak the new fw (2.0) so i followed the instructions here and every time i get up to the step where i load the fw into itunes i get an error that says "the ipod "iPod" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (6).
    can someone tell me the right way to jailbreak it or a fix for this problem.
  2. Ska8r411

    Ska8r411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Make sure you have no previous version installed...
  3. HOLLOWRAZER

    HOLLOWRAZER New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. seanthebond

    seanthebond New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. xcrunner448

    xcrunner448 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    error 6 means you arent in dfu mode correctly
  6. ipodgamez

    ipodgamez Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    51
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    ok well i keep trying to put my ipod in dfu mode and im not able to i know ziphone can put it in but i dont think it works with 2.0 fw so is there any other program or can someone give me REALLY GOOD inst on how to put it in dfu mode cause i followed alot of tuts and cant seem to do it every time i do it it goes into recovery mode
  7. mikec1985

    mikec1985 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    When I first tried winpwn when I clicked activate YouTube it crashed when making the ipsw. So I tried it without clicking it, it worked but when the firmware was finished it was only 24mb. When he updated it it worked fine but there is a chance it might not be building the ipsw right make sure it at least 222mb I think that would cause the error too
  8. micaheljcaboose

    micaheljcaboose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    82
    My IPSW's come out as 221mb with only Cydia installed. Any suggestions?
  9. ipodgamez

    ipodgamez Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    51
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    I FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINALLY FIGURED IT OUT THANKS TO GMAN ON THIS THREAD (HES A LITTLE WAYS DOWN)
    BASICALLY YOU MUST TURN OFF THE IPOD AND THHHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEN YOU HOLD SLEEP AND HOME FOR 10 SECS THEN YOU LET GO OF SLEEP
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    i wrote a really esasy winpwn tut here if anyone needs help winpwing

Share This Page