Windows Explorer crashes everytime touch is plugged into or taken off USB cord

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ThrowAway, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. ThrowAway

    ThrowAway New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Explorer is crashing EVERYTIME I either plug in or remove my iPod touch and it's starting to be a real pain and driving me crazy.

    This is the crash log that is generated each tiime -

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: Explorer.EXE
    Application Version: 6.0.6000.16549
    Application Timestamp: 46d230c5
    Fault Module Name: iTunesMobileDevice.dll_unloaded
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4682ab30
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 072560f0
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 3081



    Can anyone help me fix this frustrating problem please ?
  2. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Fix: Don't use Explorer, use Chrome

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. ThrowAway

    ThrowAway New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's Windows Explorer that's crashing, not Internet Explorer.
  4. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Windows Explorer...care to expand on it?
    Windows Explorer as in the COMPUTER in general?
  5. zephyrnok

    zephyrnok Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Explorer is what window's uses to open up folders.
  6. ThrowAway

    ThrowAway New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder why the ipod is crashing it?
  7. mitch88ell

    mitch88ell New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well, I have Vista and every 10 minuets or so, Windows Explorer crashed on me (sometimes, I was doing nothing) It passes, just live with it like I did, and now the problem is gone after a couple on Updates. On iTunes 8.0, I got a couple of BSoD when I connected my iPod, but now that is fixed also. So just live with it and the problem is fixed.
    Also there might another solution. I turned something off to regulate the usage of memory apps use and the problem stopped after that. I cant remember what it is right now, but Ill get back yo you if I can find what it is.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. ThrowAway

    ThrowAway New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, if you remember that would be awesome.

    Explorer never crashes for me using Vista, the only time is as soon as I plug in my touch or unplug it. It happens everytime and I have to click restart.

    I have tried different USB ports and unplugged all other USB devices to no avail.
  9. Nerviss

    Nerviss New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey ThrowAway, I pretty much get the same message. I can't find an answer anywhere.

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: explorer.exe
    Application Version: 6.0.6000.16549
    Application Timestamp: 46d230c5
    Fault Module Name: iTunesMobileDevice.dll_unloaded
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4682ab30
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 040860f0
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 4105

    What motherboard are you using? I'm using ASUS P5K on Vista 32-bit.
    I have a 1st Gen iPhone.
  10. andyt4097

    andyt4097 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    About the crashing on XP, do you have SP3 (Service Pack 3) installed? To find out, press the Windows logo key + the Pause/Break button on your keyboard at the same time, then release. The general tab should open up, and the first thing on the open tab should say General: post back the SP3 or SP2.

Share This Page