Windows 7 upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by ipodtouch is dabest, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. ipodtouch is dabest

    ipodtouch is dabest Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
  2. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Read this. You can use the Bootcamp utility to install Win7 on your iMac.

    Tutorial
  3. nozz

    nozz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but.. You buy an iMac and the first thing you do is install Windows 7?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    lol thats what i was thinkin ^^^
  5. ipodtouch is dabest

    ipodtouch is dabest Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    well i dont really plan to use it that much, just for my PC based games and my Office 2007 i only bought a couple of months ago.

    so will the upgrade work without any previous Windows OS on the Mac?
  6. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    nope the upgrade only works on a preinstalled version
  7. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
  8. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    it clearly says you must have some version of windows to upgrade upon

    http://social.answers.microsoft.com...l/thread/d49a3075-5d5c-4cf5-8e26-f54df99573e4

    more sources
    sorry if im sounding like a pushy lol i just dont want him wasting his money on an upgrade that he cant use
  9. BruceSmith

    BruceSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Friends!!
    I am using Windows Xp and Fedora currently.
    The Widows Xp is for my sister and Fedora is for me.
    I am planning to install Mac on it as the third boot is it possible any way. I heard that it is not possible as a dual boot with Mac. I need help please.
    I want to be a iphone developer. If there is any other way will be happy to implement.
    Thanks.
  10. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    erm you can install mac os x using hackintoshed distros
    resize your partitions and create a thrid primary partition - format it using hfs+ and install mac os x using a working distro with the chameleon bootloader

    sounds very simple but unfortunately it is NOT (!!) - easiest way would be to get a mac

    @topic:
    it is not sure whether it is possible to isntall windows 7 on a fresh formatted pc or not - some say yes and some no I think it is not possible

    //EDIT: technically actually it is possible to isntall 7 upgrade media on without a prev. version of windows BUT it is not legal - a howto is here:
    http://www.winsupersite.com/win7/clean_install_upgrade_media.asp

Share This Page