Will this ever be possible?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by youtube-friendlyfire203, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. youtube-friendlyfire203

    youtube-friendlyfire203 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    would it ever be possible to use the ipod touch as an iphone and connect to a network and go on the internet anyware without using heavy hardware equipment and opening your ipod?
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    No. Please use the search function. AND use some common sense.

    The iPod Touch does not have the Hardware that the iPhone has.
  3. Firespray

    Firespray Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is a way to install some kind of software on cell phones running Windows Mobile 6 that sets it up as a WiFi Hotspot that your Touch could connect to. But if you really think about it, if you can afford a Windows Mobile smartphone, you could probably afford a iPhone

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Unless you're running a different network...

    There's also a way to setup a laptop as a Hotspot as long as it's connected to the internet via Ethernet cable (tested this out today and it worked perfectly for my Touch). But that's less convenient but it's handy if you can only connect a laptop to a ethernet connection and there's no router to use.
  4. qaz333

    qaz333 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
  5. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    Unless a piece of hardware is created that can be attached through the Touch's dock and some software is developed and loaded to run it, the answer is probably no. But it is the allure of the impossible that drives innovation so, I guess you never know!
  6. steveo3

    steveo3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
  7. Firespray

    Firespray Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know, the only thing I've seen that for is just for phones running Windows Mobile 6 software.
  8. steveo3

    steveo3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    it runs windows mobile 6
  9. lazyasada

    lazyasada Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    52
    plz asking stupid questions and start using the search tab
  10. enj0ii

    enj0ii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the phone has to have wifi too.. which the blackjack II does not have.
    i tried it on my blackjack I and it no workie

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page