iOS 4.0 Will my apps/song/video be erased while upgrading to OS4?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by oric1, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. oric1

    oric1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Will all my apps/songs/videos be erased during upgrading to OS4 on my iPod Touch 3G (using stock OS 3.1.3)?

    Currently, I had the auto backup disabled on iTunes as it takes just too long to perform the backup every time I sync with the PC.

    Do I need to enable the backup first before upgrading to the new OS?

    Thanks!
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yes it would be wise to backup before restoring so any app data gets saved and new apps get transfered to your library.
  3. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Since you're going to be updating, you shouldn't lose anything, but it's always safer to just right click your iPod in iTunes and backup and transfer purchases. Just in case.
  4. User Name

    User Name Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    40
    Don't major firmware updates erase everything?
  5. #1 iPad Fan

    #1 iPad Fan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    If you Option click (mac) or Shift click (windows) on Check for Update it will just update the software and leave your apps and sh*t alone.

    If you Option click (mac) or Shift click (windows) on Restore it will restore it to iOS 4 and delete everything.

Share This Page