Will a new ipod remember your itunes settings?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by yyyy2999, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. yyyy2999

    yyyy2999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well i didn't word it properly... What i mean is will a new ipod touch remember statuses of an app that has info on it. I wanna replace my ipod but i have important info on my apps that it needs to remember, will it? ( After i plug the new ipod in)
  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
  3. yyyy2999

    yyyy2999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Is there any way to make it remember?! =(
  4. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, you could go into /var/mobile/Applications and then go into each application folder and backup the Documents folder. Some apps save their data there. I've tried this for one app and it worked, so I guess you could give it a try as well.
  5. Mkhcb

    Mkhcb Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    u can create a backup of itunes. When you get your new one, restore from backup.
  6. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    From my knowledge, a backup only saves your bookmarks, contacts, preferences and settings, no data from apps.
  7. Mkhcb

    Mkhcb Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Not true I have restored after dfu and my backup have restored notes from my notes app, account history form many apps (non apple related), mail app settings, and etc
  8. yyyy2999

    yyyy2999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Think thats only because its the same ipod
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Wait what? Please gimme instructions (i'm on vista)
  9. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, if you don't know how to SSH, look up a guide. Once you do that, SSH into /var/mobile/Applications, and inside you will see a bunch of folders with random numbers and letters. Each folder represents one of your applications. Find your app and back up the Documents folder.
  10. jayjay960

    jayjay960 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    the backups in iTunes do include Application data. They have to, because when you restore you wipe everything off the iPod. When you get a new iPod just make a backup of your old one and set up your new one to use the backup.

Share This Page