Wildman94's Review of Rolando: One of the best iPod games yet!!

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Reviews' started by Wildman94, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Wildman94

Wildman94 New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)

Please Register or Log in to view images

I never really knew much about Rolando. All I really knew was that it was supposed to be like Loco Roco (which I've never played), and that there was a huge hype around it. I never really understood the hype for it, though, but I think I surrendered to it, because on December 18th, I bought Rolando. And my, was that one of the best decisions I've made this year. As soon as I started playing Rolando, I understood why there was so much hype around it.

Graphics: Why not go over the first aspect of Rolando you experience? Well anyways, the graphics are impecable. It may only be 2D graphics, and not 3D, like such games as "Kroll" and the upcoming "Need For Speed: Undercover", but that doesn't stop Rolando from providing you with a nicely polished game. The areas and characters look quite smooth and vivid. I would have to say that Rolando has the best graphics of any 2D iPhone game out there. 9.5/10

Music: I wish I could include the music of Rolando in my interview, but I never really played Rolando with it. I think I only played Rolando with my music or no music at all. ?/10

Storyline: Rolando has you playing as small balls called Rolandos, as you try and save the sages of Rolandoland. There's one small factor, though. A fleet of shadow creatures is holding them hostage. You have to play through four different worlds, each with nine levels, to rescue the sages. The storyline seems very Mario-esque for some reason, considering that the Rolandos need to go through four different worlds before finding the sages, while in Super Mario Bros., Mario went through eight different worlds to find Princess Peach. Nonetheless, the storyline is good in my book!! Short, simple, and sweet. 9/10