Wifi Network Locked

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by bsand, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. bsand

    bsand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can enter networks outside of home but not my own. The Touch has a tick mark beside my network and shows strong signal but has a lock and I cannot unlock. I am using a sympatico speedstream siemens 6520 modem but sympatico does not know how to fix it. I put in the wep number but still no success. What can I do?
  2. calevans

    calevans Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    allrighty, so its probably your dns settings. heres what to do:

    -settings
    -wifi
    -blue arrow next to connected network
    -change dns to 208.67.222.222

    that should solve your problem, post back.
  3. bsand

    bsand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It still says safari can't open page because it can't find server. There is nothing in ip address or subnet mask or router and I added dns as per your instructions.
  4. greenrick

    greenrick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    208.67.222.222 just solved my identical problem; thanks! When I bought the Touch, it worked effortlessly with my Linksys wireless router. That router failed, and when I replaced it with a "more advanced" N router, my laptops received good wireless Internet access, but the Touch stopped working with Safari and Youtube apps. Yet the Touch worked fine on public wifi at local coffee shop. I fiddled with a bunch of Linksys configuration settings but nothing helped till I just tried your 208.67.222.222! Can you briefly explain what this setting is, and why it works? Much thanks, Rick
  5. greenrick

    greenrick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone just explained to me that 208.67.222.222 points to OpenDNS. His explanation:
    That DNS setting is to openDNS (which is a great DNS to use!). It appears that the Touch may not know how to update the DNS, so using this one will always work, which is a clever work around.

    BTW, I use openDNS at home now and get MUCH better speed on the internet when going to websites.

    Visit http://www.opendns.com/ for more info.
  6. Mattyoak

    Mattyoak New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice explanation!
  7. calevans

    calevans Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page