Wifi High-Fi What!?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Crieo(withUNmind), Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Crieo(withUNmind)

    Crieo(withUNmind) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok my questions this- My laptop can pick up a wireless Internet around my home how every my ipod touch (3 gen,Firmwire 3.1.2[JB should it matter]) can't

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . is their anyway I can connect my ipod to my laptop and get the fast internet that way (sorta like a computer-to-computer network ) pleaz help i have been googling for a week with no results.
  2. m0in

    m0in Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Well, you could try iNetCable. Or on windows Vista/7, im not sure about XP, you could do a ad-hoc connection. When you have made the ad-hoc connection, just connect to it through your ipod
  3. Crieo(withUNmind)

    Crieo(withUNmind) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    yea I tryed that(ad-hoc) the thing is I don't own the wireless internet (its a unsecured network) and ad-hoc requires that my computer be the host(right?). Anyway when I did that my ipod gets 1 bar but ses theirs no internet connection and my computer switches back to wireless.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    <Bump>
  4. Tikker

    Tikker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    you need wired to the laptop, to do ad-hoc from laptop to ipod
  5. SiXAXiS

    SiXAXiS Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Your Laptop most likely has wireless N
  6. scylla2

    scylla2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    If your laptop is running Windows 7, download a free application called "Connectify". This will turn the wifi card in your laptop to a "repeater" and will repeat the nearby internet signal (with a new SSID) throughout your house. That way if it's wireless-N it'll still work with your iPod Touch because the repeated signal from your laptop will broadcast in wireless-G.
  7. Crieo(withUNmind)

    Crieo(withUNmind) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    mabye. . .

    that sounds like it would work but I don't have W7 yet.
  8. jmavendan

    jmavendan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hi, this is my first post. Anyway you can actually set your wireless card as the Access Point. But you need to connect your laptop to the router hardwired. That is how my iPod is connecting to the internet whenever I am home. Just search over google this keyword " wireless card access point" and it will show you a walkthrough from Microsoft. Hope this will help you.

Share This Page