Widget

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Jtboyz01, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. Jtboyz01

    Jtboyz01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the widget app for the itouch but i can't figure out how do i put widgets on my itouch if u guys could help i would be happy
  2. Drew90

    Drew90 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just go to this site.

    http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/


    Download any widget you want, extract the files and you will probably have a couple of folders, but you only need the .wdgt folder.

    SSH into your iPod and copy the .wdgt folder to: /private/var/root/Library/Widgets (if the Widgets folder isn't there just make one)

    Set the permissions to 755 and your done!

    Remember some widgets don't work and they won't fit the whole screen to my knowledge.
  3. almrow

    almrow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the widgets that the ipod can read came from Mac or Windows?? or both??
  4. Drew90

    Drew90 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well the widgets are built for Mac OS X, but since the iPod Touch is built on a version of OS X they will read on your iPod with the widget application. They won't work for a Windows computer, but that doesn't matter since they are going on your iPod.

    Don't use the Windows extraction software, it won't work, I recommend 7-Zip to extract the files. Sorry forgot to mention that, it is probably where you had your problem.
  5. I_am_Mad_like_This

    I_am_Mad_like_This New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
  6. marko

    marko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    once youve pt these in the directory and set permissions, how do you see them on the ipod?

    i installed the plasmatube but it dont do anythign.
  7. donkeykong

    donkeykong Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    2
    Needs flash.
  8. johnson22

    johnson22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i set perrmissions when i put them on through total commander ?
  9. rome2ng

    rome2ng New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    anyone can confirm if this actually works ?
  10. Drew90

    Drew90 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, here are some screenshots of my of my Periodic Table app. I have gotten a couple of SMS Widgets to work too, but none that can be replied to.

    Please Register or Log in to view images




    Umm...it might need flash like donkeykong said, but remember some Widgets just don't work for some reason.

    Also, as you can see in the screenshots, the Widgets only fill a portion of the screen and don't respond to the accelerometer (won't flip from portrait to landscape). Any ideas on how to fix this?

    Almost forgot, does anyone want a tutorial for the Widgets app? I will post one if enough people request one; with pictures and all.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Attached Files:

Share This Page