Wi-fi help.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by kenney69, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. kenney69

    kenney69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router. I can connect to my network no problem, but when I go somewhere in Safari, it says that it can't connect to the server. On my Xbox 360, it fails the DNS test for Xbox Live, so I think it's a DNS problem. Help?
  2. GeorgeGabriel

    GeorgeGabriel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    switch off all your wifi devices, then turn your router off at the wall
    turn the router back on, then test each wifi device
  3. skyline_-

    skyline_- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    8
    I also have the same router with many problems.. it lets my ipod connect, but I can't get my xbox to connect, and sometimes when I bring a new laptop home I cant get it connected, I dunno what to tell you.
  4. axelis6

    axelis6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    1
    if it possible to unlock that router..
    like to make it free acces... do it..
    i did that at home and its pretty simple...
  5. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Try this:

    On both your iPod and the Xbox, set the DNS to 192.168.1.1

    (On your xbox, if that doesn't work, try setting the DNS to automatic if that isn't how it already is).
  6. jrods

    jrods New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got that router and it works great....
  7. Sucrilhos

    Sucrilhos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, i had a problem with my ipod touch wifi at home, at my office it would navigate as it should be, at my home it would connect but would not navigate, o i just try to add my router's IP to "search domains" and that did the trick, now works perfectly in both wifi.
  8. Darrell

    Darrell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a different problem: I can connect fine for a few minutes but then it just stops. My internet connection is stable but the iPod touch would stop downloading (installer). I just stops. I have to either turn off then on my Touch's wifi, or click forget connection to refresh it. Then I'll have internet connection again for a few minutes, then it stops again.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Any ideas please?

Share This Page