Why wont MPEG-4 video play on my ipod?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Keeheon, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. Keeheon

    Keeheon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Easy, format it for the iPod/iPhone
  3. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes, you must format the video to be read specifically by the iPod Touch/iPhone.

    Which operating system are you using?
    There are some good video converters (free) out there to do the job.
  4. S.I.D. CrAzY

    S.I.D. CrAzY Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
  5. Keeheon

    Keeheon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I have OSX

    I used handbreak to rip the dvd to a mpeg 4 format.
    is there like mac videora?

    cheers
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    btw, i set the settings like this:
    http://www.grabup.com/uploads/728eb82a8b5b3830d73999d4b4e4a4d5.png

    Im pretty sure that I set it to be a format that is supported by an ipod touch, I read the formats supported by ipod at apple.com

    and it said like H.2123 something and mpeg-4, so I ripped it to mpeg 4
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Dear God. On OS X, do not ever EVER use anything aside from Handbrake or VisualHub/FilmRedux.

    Just convert what you have to iPod Touch/iPhone formatted. The ones you have now probably have too high a resolution. Thats why it won't sync. That or whatever is inside the MP4 itself can't be played by the devices.

    EDIT: After seeing the 2nd picture, it's because you set the resolution to 720 x 480. Which the devices can't do. You can do 720 x 400 or 704 x 400. But what you have set is too big.

    EDIT EDIT: Just set it to iPhone/iPod Touch. Set the average bitrate to 1000 and max out the resolution to what I said. Don't need all the other fancy stuff like 2 pass encoding. You won't notice the quality difference whatsoever on that tiny screen.
  7. Keeheon

    Keeheon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    thanks so much teslanaut. It should work if I followed everything you told me to do right?

    Thanks so much
  8. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It should. Depending on the Resolution. Safe would be 704 x 400 if it's 16:9. 720 x 400 might work. If I were you, just do a preview encode. Encode like 20 seconds of it and then try to sync it. If it works, do the whole thing.
  9. Keeheon

    Keeheon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  10. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You used the settings I mentioned above right? Do what I said, maybe tweak the settings a bit lower then try again. Create a preview of what you want to sync by converting a video for about 30 seconds, then stop the conversion and try to sync that piece.

Share This Page