WHY wont certain apps install?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Miiitchhh, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. Miiitchhh

    Miiitchhh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has me so f'ing frustrated im about to smash this piece of sh*t on the ground.

    Im trying to install BSD Subsystem on my ipod touch 2g but its got a grey box next to it, and when i click it in INSTALLER it doesnt do anything! just sits there. i can click it 100 times but it doesnt go to the install page like it should.

    I notice other apps with grey boxes dont work either. They just sit there when i click them.

    WHY IS THIS? PRETTY SURE I NEED bsd subsystem so that i can edit files directly on the itouch. Even if not i need to know how to fix this so i can have other useful apps.

    Also another question, How come when i go to websites with lists of app sources, none of the sources are online anymore? 90% of the sources ive tried dont work. If anything shouldnt there be a growing number of sources??
  2. Ipwnnubletz

    Ipwnnubletz Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Use Cydia, its not a piece of crap like Installer
  4. Miiitchhh

    Miiitchhh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    But BSD Subsystem isnt listed in Cydia??? When i search for bsd its not on there. Is it under another name?
  5. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Use Finder in Cydia. Pretty sure its called that.
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Last I remember, as of 2.0, you don't need that anymore.
  7. Miiitchhh

    Miiitchhh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My goal is to add roms to my itouch so that my genesis emulator can have something to play. In a guide i saw somewhere it told me download bsd subsystem. Is that not needed to do what im trying to do?
  8. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Link me to that guide. I bet it's for pre-2.0. All you need is OpenSSH.
  9. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    You get the emulator and look for the ROMs somewhere, which is illegal btw, then use OpenSSH and Winscp and put the ROMs in a certain folder somewhere.

    Your looking at a really old tutorial.
  10. Miiitchhh

    Miiitchhh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You guys are right the video is pretty old.

    Im gunna keep trying to get winscp to connect. check back in a few minutes k?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Ok well its saying Connection Refused now. I put in the IP address the touch gives me into the host. port is 22. username root, pass alpine?

    correct?

    Ive got openssh installed. (is there supposed to be an SSH icon or some place that im supposed to change settings? because i installed it and theres nothing new added from what i can see)

    Is there an app called 'services' i need to download?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    help?

Share This Page