iOS 4.0 Why save shsh blobs?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by sneak3, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. sneak3

    sneak3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Can anyone explain me why I should save the shsh blobs of my phone if it's much easier just to write "74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com" on my hosts file?

    For those who dont know, by writting that on your hosts file, you can trick apple and downgrade as much as you want.
  2. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    just in case. thats why.
  3. FaL LeGeNd

    FaL LeGeNd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Nooooo...you trick Apple's server's to going to SAURIK'S server aka Cydia's server where your SHSH Blobs are. If your blobs arn't there, you won't be able to downgrade. You get 3194 once Apple stop's signing the blobs and iTunes can't find them. By redirecting it to Cydia's server it finds your blobs and is able to downgrade them. No blobs = no downgrade. No matter what.
  4. Bl1tzkrieg

    Bl1tzkrieg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Double the blobs i guess.
    I have blobs saved through Cydia, and to my computer. Can never be to careful!
  5. PackerEagles10

    PackerEagles10 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Actually stringing that little code onto the hosts files doesnt work unless you save the SHSH blobs to Cydias server.
  6. sneak3

    sneak3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Sorry guys but I think you are wrong...i bought an iphone with 4.0 out of the box. Updated it to 4.0.1 and then put that little code over hosts and downgraded it to 4.0...

    it worked perfectly and i hadnt even jailbroken it or saved any blobs..

    edit: and anyway, how could cydia server interfere with apple server?
  7. cjainy

    cjainy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Sorry guy I think you are wrong...apple is still signing (allowing) you to downgrade to 4.0 because its really not that old...

    it worked perfectly because you aren't trying to downgrade to 3.x.x, that's what the blobs are saved for.

    /failtrolling

    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296164
  8. sneak3

    sneak3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)

    Why would any one want to downgrade to 3.x? doesnt make any sense.

    So those who dont want 3.x dont need to save blobs that is it?

    edit: if blobs are only meant for 3.x firms why are people telling you have to save blobs when you upgrade to 4.0?

Share This Page