why no voice control for first iphone?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by Gabe, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Gabe

    Gabe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    why is there no voice control for the first iphone? does the 3G get it or just the 3GS?

    does the 3GS have a special mic or what?
  2. jalexis4192

    jalexis4192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Only the 3GS gets it, 3G doesn't get it for a while till someone ports it to the 3G.
  3. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Only the 3GS gets it. That's the way the world works...
  4. Gabe

    Gabe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    hmm, thanks for the info. well I hope voice control requires the 3GS mic, otherwise thats kinda lame not to include it for other devices that have a mic. the fact that the google app has voice control support, I don't see why we can't get voice control across all devices that have a mic.

    remember the first ipod touch, it was missing a few basic apps that the iphone had, so people were installing those apps via jailbreak if I remember correctly, I hope this is what happens with voice control.
  5. jalexis4192

    jalexis4192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Voice control, *i think* isn't an app, not sure though, mean, the camera upgrade can be ported from what i've heard, don't about the voice control though.

    P.S. you don't need a mic, since iphones have one built in.. go watch the vid on apples website,t hey don't use one. 0.o
  6. Gabe

    Gabe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    how could the camera upgrade be ported? the 3GS has a new camera. are you just talking about the preview last picture taken button?

    when I said mic I meant a mic, if it's built in or not it's still called a mic.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Storm Surge

    Storm Surge New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Actually, Apple could have easily put voice control and a camera update for the old iPhones, dunno why they won't though.
  8. Gabe

    Gabe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    how could they have done the camera update, since the 3GS has a new camera?
  9. franky_402

    franky_402 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    They could have updated the software and gave us video recording
  10. Gabe

    Gabe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    it would have been poor video recording, the 3GS camera records at 30 fps, the earlier devices that have a camera can only record at 15 fps. apple basically doesn't want to half-ass video recording.

Share This Page