Why doesn't Maps App Locate ME?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.3 Application Compatibility' started by rohit92, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. rohit92

    rohit92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally got the jailbreak of 1.1.3 to work with the apps, but I am wondering why can't the locate me in the maps app not work?
  2. Mahmoud

    Mahmoud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you under water??
  3. xIpodTouchGurux

    xIpodTouchGurux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0

    LoL

    Anyway.. are u connected to WIFI?
  4. rohit92

    rohit92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea... Is this just a bug?
  5. mcsampson

    mcsampson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine doesn't work either but I live in a small community away from places that would have access to it.
  6. plasma

    plasma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never works for me either, even when i didnt have a JB touch.
  7. lol89

    lol89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    check here if your city is covered http://www.skyhookwireless.com/howitworks/coverage.php mine isnt but i sent them an email asking them if they could get to my city in the future. For now were just stuck without it unless we go into a city with there access points logged by Skyhook Wireless.
  8. BayAreaKing

    BayAreaKing New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Mine doesn't work either. Does it just try to find as many wifi spots around me and triangulate my location or something? There's like 6 wifi connections that show up, but all of them are 1 bars and most have security.
  9. ficho

    ficho New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will never work unless if you are on some old hotspot in usa or few cities in the world where skyhook team has been. If a new hotspot is added after they mapped the old ones, you will not be located on it. Even if you live in usa for example and your w router was mapped, if you buy a new one you willl .... not be located. It's basically very crappy thing. Works much better on iPhone with cell-tower info which is MUCH more up-to-date, especially because google's doing it, and not some lazy-ass wannabe company like skyhook.
  10. jstlookinground

    jstlookinground New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    thats bologna, im right in the middle of a big blob of blue, and it still cant fine me =/

Share This Page