Why doesn't Apple put their Apps on the App Store?

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Games & Apps' started by Teslanaut, Jun 15, 2009.

?

App Store or Firmware

  1. I'd love it on the App Store instead of the Firmware

    50.9%
  2. I'm alright with it being in the firmware.

    49.1%
  1. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I've kinda wondered. Why doesn't Apple put their Apps on the App Store? The ones I'm specifically talking about are:

    • Stocks
    • Maps
    • Weather
    • YouTube
    • Voice Memo
    • Calculator
    • Compass

    I mean, instead of including them in the firmware and taking up screen real estate, can't they just put it up on their App Store page like they do with Remote? I'm quite sure it'd make quite a bit of people happy.
  2. mieraisamazing

    mieraisamazing Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow that would be awesome.
    i never thought about that.

    if only. i dont use any of that crap so it would make my life SO much easier
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    That and the ONLY thing on their page on the App Store... Is Remote, Keynote Remote, and Texas Hold'em :|
  4. BroadStBullies

    BroadStBullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Very good question Tes. Ive always wondered this. That way if they wanted to update an app they could just update through the appstore and not a huge new firmware. Also if an app wasnt working people could just re install it not have to restore.
  5. SumDaii

    SumDaii Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yeah... good question actually.

    would let me take away the icons i don't use.

    (offtopic: where do you get these avatars from!?!?)
  6. Sunkist

    Sunkist Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Not sure why, but I know a fix to it if you don't want one of them. Just SSH into your iPod or iPhone, then just go to /Applications to delete them. Just respring, it really does work. If you want it back, just put it back in /Applications, but if it doesn't work after respringing, gUICache should help out.
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    That requires you to be Jailbroken. This solution makes things a whole lot easier for everyone.
  8. mieraisamazing

    mieraisamazing Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    well yes but that requires a jailbreak.
    what about those without a jailbreak??
    having the apps in the app store is SO much easier for them.

    edit: tes beat me to it lol
  9. iamkewl

    iamkewl Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah everyone knows that.

    But some people don't want to jailbreak.

    edit: im so slow

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. jamil_d

    jamil_d Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    No way. They are preinstalled apps, and should stay that way. Near all are necessary, while Remote is optional. You need some preinstalled applications on an iPhone, otherwise it's just a device with App Store. There should be an option to hide them, rather.

Share This Page