Why does every thing containing memory have to be like this... ?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by carfreak95, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. carfreak95

    carfreak95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Everything containing memory in every device imaginable other then computer is like this:
    128mb, x2 = 256 mb x2 = 512 mb x2= 1gb x2 = 2gb x2= 4gb x2 = 8gb x2= 16gb
    etcetc

    why is it like that?
    ive never seen a device with 3gb, or 21 gb.
    its always the format above!
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Those are usually the way the memory 'sticks' are designed for the motherboard.

    I've seen some computers sold with 3GB of RAM before.
    I guess it's easier for the DIMM slots to reach the motherboard's max amount of RAM?

    Just because a computer can support a lot of RAM doesn't mean it's already there....
    Like the Mac Pro. It can hold 32GB. You can put any amount from 1-32GB in it.
  3. frightenedcow

    frightenedcow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    my old computer had like 731 mbs of ram. somewhere around there.
  4. Spartigus

    Spartigus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Because computers use binary code, base 2 number system. 2^0 = 1, 2^1 = 2, 2^2 = 4, 2^3 = 8, 2^4 =16, 2^5 = 32, 2^6 = 36, 2^7 = 64 .... and so on
  5. Hayesy15

    Hayesy15 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    dunno its always puzzled me
    probz just to keep it simple
    so when u go to a shpo there wont be loads of memory sticks
  6. Ryuzaki

    Ryuzaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Eww. I got 3GB :'D

    And I know, I was thinking the same the other day. Maybe that's just how they come.
  7. holbikwolff10

    holbikwolff10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    The binary code thing. It's slighly more nerdy stuff than a lot of iptf users would get...
  8. redforeva

    redforeva New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    3
    you've never seen a device with 3 GB?

    3072 doesn't coincide

    gj
  9. iptman

    iptman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    My computer has 3gb of RAM, so I don't consider it unusual
  10. Gamma

    Gamma Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Computers with 3 gigs of RAM have one 2GB module and one 1GB module. It's not exactly uncommon either.

Share This Page