Why does Cydia have long loading times?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Le Reveur, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. Le Reveur

    Le Reveur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 8gb itouch 3g and jailbroken with black rain. Cydia takes forever to load. It would be stuck in "reloading" or "loading" for a while. When I watch the youtube videos, people using cydia seem to be a lot faster. I have already deleted files in the var/lib/apt folder using funbox, which supposedly solves a stuck loading process, but now Cydia takes a long time to load on start up, and continues to be in the reloading process afterwards for about another 2 min. until I can use Cydia again

    Is Cydia always this slow or do I have to configure something to make it go faster. I know it's not my internet connection, because Rock runs just fine.
  2. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    Try quitting other processes before starting Cydia.
  3. Le Reveur

    Le Reveur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    You quit other processes by holding down the home button right?
  4. Slasher115

    Slasher115 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    there are alot of adds on cydia that probly slows it down
  5. Code Name_Raven

    Code Name_Raven Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    SBSettings processes list + Free Mem.
  6. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    He's talking about when Cydia is initializing. Advertisements have nothing to do with it. It's like saying navigating an ad-free website with Safari is slow because there are advertisements on other sites.
  7. Timmarus

    Timmarus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    You can use backgrounder but it can use a bunch of free memory.
  8. Le Reveur

    Le Reveur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    tnx for the replies, yes when cydia is initalizing it is very slow. Do I have to install sbs setting to free memory? or is there a manual way to reduce processes to speed up cydia startup?
  9. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I believe that SBsettings is the only way to free up memory on the go. However, you could just use Rock and none of this would be a problem!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. Fwission

    Fwission New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Get NoCyfresh. My loading screen is 5 seconds...

Share This Page