Where can I get BootCamp drivers without my CD

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by mclaurin10, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. mclaurin10

    mclaurin10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    So I lost the CD that came with my Macbook pro (not the unibody, the last rev of the old one) and I just did a clean install to the 64 bit version of windows 7.

    But right now its not getting volume or graphics or anything important like that, so where can I get those drivers.

    On a secondary note, how do I turn aero "transparency" on in windows 7, Ive looked in display and personalization and found nothing.
  2. Kanga

    Kanga New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    There's *******s all over the internet for them. I assume I can't post links, but it's easy to find.

    Aero is automatically turned on when you install video drivers.

    On a side note, I'm rather sure 64bit versions of Windows are only supported on a Mac Pro. A small fact I found out installing 64bit Vista on my Macbook.
  3. mclaurin10

    mclaurin10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Strangely enough no, in the instructions for installing Windows 7 to check f your processor was 64 bit capable, mine said yes on a Macbook pro.

    Everything is running fine except my drivers.
  4. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    @ Kanga
    incorrect
    any 64 bit processor is compatible and all core 2's are 64 bit
  5. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    The first time I installed WINDOWS 7 on my macbook pro I had that problem and after I ran the software update and installed VM tools it added the drivers. You don't need the OS X disk.
  6. mclaurin10

    mclaurin10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Did you upgrade or do a clean install? I hat to do a clean install because I moved from 32 bit to 64 bit.
  7. Kanga

    Kanga New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It seems I didn't make myself clear enough.

    I know that my Macbook, as well as the other Intel Macs are indeed 64bit capable, hardware wise, but the software - Apple's drivers, will only install on a 32bit Windows system, unless you have a Mac Pro.

    At least that was how it was when I installed Vista on my White Macbook. Now, with Windows 7 and all the new Aluminum Macbooks, they may have changed this.
  8. mclaurin10

    mclaurin10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    fun that will mean a reinstall for me, I have a last gen MBP, but before I do, can anyone confirm this?
  9. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    that sadly happened on my aluminum macbook..so yes i can confirm it
  10. MrCrawley

    MrCrawley New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    nvidia 8600 vista 64bit drivers (i used this in my 4,1 MBP) http://files.laptopvideo2go.com/Dox/Vistax64/Vista64_181.20.exe

    Realtek HD Audio
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads...=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    haven't had time to test the audio one, but i asume it will work with 64 (does with 32).

    if you got any trouble with the laptopvideo2go driver, they're also frontpaged is the one called vista64_181.20

    hope i had helped

Share This Page