What's up, Apple peoples....

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by JimMcG, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. JimMcG

    JimMcG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Just signed up trying to do some research on the 2G Touch. Not a big fan of Apple, never owned any Apple stuff but the wife was captivated by her niece's Ipod Touch so I decided to buy her one for our anniversary which is this Friday. I may end up liking it as much as she will.

    16GB model is wingin' it's way from China to central PA as I type...should be here today which gives me a couple days to play with it before I give it to her on Friday. Would be cool if I could do a little bit of customizing it for her in advance.

    Off to search the board for tips and info...

    Jim
  2. Chrisschulz

    Chrisschulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Get Jim welcome to iptf. I'm chris, I know she will enjoy the iPod.
  3. JimMcG

    JimMcG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Thanks Chris.....FedEx just dropped it off! Play time

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Can at least set it up to work with our wireless network while I figure out other stuff.
  4. mikec1985

    mikec1985 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Yes go into settings select wifi and then select a connection. If you want a short description of some great jailbreak applications look here.
  5. JimMcG

    JimMcG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Having some trouble setting up the wifi....touch finds my network but I'm not sure it knows I use WPA2 security. Tried creating a new connection twice now, noting WPA2 and entering the password but it's not connecting. Sure wish there was a way to copy in the password versus having to type it in each time...easy to make a mistake and know way of knowing if you do once it goes to asterisks. I also use static IPs so I have to get that set. Not sure what it wants in the "router" setting...maybe the router name but I don't see how that's relevant when it knows the Wireless' SSID.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Ok, got networking going finally! Didn't realize they were looking for a gateway address in the "router" field.....must be an Apple thing....pretty much every other network device I've set up always asks for "gateway" when it wants that address.

    Got it working first without security on and then went back and reenabled wpa2....must have entered the key correctly because it still works. Excellent!

Share This Page