What is Jailbreaking? Answers for Complete Beginners

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by CharlzXD, Nov 17, 2009.

1. CharlzXD

CharlzXD New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So First things First:

What Exactly is Jailbreaking:
    Jailbreaking is when a program or series of programs is used to modify an Iphone or Ipod Touch. Meaning that Non-apple Approved applications can be installed and run on the Iphone/Ipod Touch. So in theory you could code your own iphone program and put it on your idevice, if you had the know-how to do so

Please Register or Log in to view images

So Jailbreaking is ideal for Running applications you want to use but haven't been Approved by apple.

Why Should I Jailbreak?
    Jailbreaking has endless possibility's, From playing homebrew games, improving the User interface of the ipod and theming it with custom backgrounds and icons, hell there are even console emulators on Idevices such as Super Nintendo and Gameboy Advance, with n64 just around the corner

Now you may be thinking, OMG I DONT KNOW HOW TO DO THAT!!!11!

But do not fear: The jailbreaking community is MASSIVE and there will be lots of people to help you through whatever you want to do with your freshly Jailbroke Idevice.

Whats the Difference between Unlocking And Jailbreaking?
    Unlocking is when you Enable your IPhone to be unlocked from whatever network it is stuck on, eg.you buy an iPhone from AT&T and you want to ditch your AT&T plan and start using Vodaphone, well you would be buggered because most companies lock the Iphone so it is only usable on their network. Unlocking solves this problem.

Jailbreaking is purely for putting non-apple approved applications on your Iphone/Ipod touch.

Is Jailbreaking Dangerous?
    There has been Massive debate as to whether or not Jailbreaking Disadvantages an ipod in anyway, but None of these issues have any real grounding whatsoever.