What is "HASH" ??

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Wesche, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. Wesche

    Wesche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have my repo.... but I cant get to download the stuff..... so I was looking at other peoples repo... and saw that I don thave the "hash" my friend google wouldnt tell me what it is....... so could someone help me out ?
  2. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    The has tag is looking for the md5 checksum of the package. Installer uses this to make sure that the package hasn't been corrupted or tainted in any way, thus lowering the chance of downloading malicious packages.

    A checksum is the encrypted size of the package in bits. The md5, specifically, is the least secure checksum as it only uses 32 bit encryption.
  3. Wesche

    Wesche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    so how would I make a "hash" code for repo ?
  4. DeusMachina

    DeusMachina Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    60
    Go to www.hashemall.com and upload your file, make sure you click MD5 before you click upload though. It will give you the MD5 Hash code up top.
  5. Wesche

    Wesche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    uploaded the zip file... put in MD5... and it just loads.... nothing appears
  6. DeusMachina

    DeusMachina Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    60
    It has a red box at the top that says a lot of numbers are letters (EX: 7ahf83hfna9sdf9f9a9q9er0y6sad5af8a7h). That is the MD5 hash.
  7. Wesche

    Wesche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I mean it just keeps loading there is no red box

Share This Page