What do I need to buy?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by AmazingNachos, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. AmazingNachos

    AmazingNachos Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    My PC can't fully run the Sims 3. Everything is fine except for these three things:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    What do I need to buy to get my specs up, like any specifics?
  2. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You would need a whole new processor according to this information. That means you would basically need a new PC at this point. Upgrading a processor and graphics card on an old PC is pointless at this time.
  3. AmazingNachos

    AmazingNachos Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It's not even a year old.
  4. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well, while it may not be too old, it was built with what must have been the cheapest hardware available.

    Not to offend you in anyway, but all the parts in the PC are cheap.

    The processor is a LGA775, so its not that hard to upgrade and you have many choices. However... i dont know what your motherboard can handle.

    The graphics chip seems to be an integrated GMA. So again i dont know if your motherboard has the ability to handle a better or newer graphics card.

    If you got me some info on your motherboard, or on the PC itself i could try and let you know what you can do.

    P.S. is this a desktop or laptop?
  5. AmazingNachos

    AmazingNachos Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have absolutely no idea about the motherboard, but it's a Compaq Presario SR5310F.
  6. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    did some digging.

    your motherboard has a max 800Mhz FSB.

    What this means is that your potential to upgrade the processor is low. You have a limited selection.

    You also have a PCIex16 slot free according to Compaq. So you could get any number o decent graphics cards. Tho most will require a PCIe power plug. There is no way to be sure without opening and photographing all the connections for me. tho most cards do come with adapters that use the standard 4-pin molex power plug.

    Now, being in the PC field as i am, i have to say that should you choose to upgrade these, it wont be easy.

    On a scale from 1-5(5 being hardest/most complicated) i would say that putting in a new graphics card would be a 2, and putting in the new processor would be a 6.(Yes 6!)
  7. AmazingNachos

    AmazingNachos Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Thanks, I'll take some pics later.
  8. frightenedcow

    frightenedcow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    just play the game on those specs. ive played higher demanding games on my PC.
  9. AmazingNachos

    AmazingNachos Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    The display driver "igfx" stops responding when I do tho.


    And pics coming soon.

Share This Page