Weird problems with the site lately

Discussion in 'Site feedback, suggestions, and discussions' started by tinyman392, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    This just started a week ago. I though it'd fix itself, but it didn't. But lately, when surfing this forum I've run into some problems. The best way to explain it would be if I were to hit the "stop" button halfway. But I didn't. It would randomly stop loading the site and give me a half rendered site.

    Some information about my machine/web browser:
    -Windows 7 64 bit
    -Quad core processor/4GB RAM
    -Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10

    Images are attached so you can see this problem. If the text is unreadable they say either:
    -"At the bottom of the page. But I'm only on the first Android Section"
    -It says "Done", not "Stopped" or "Stop" (Stop would pop up if I manually stopped it)

    I would also like to know if anyone else is having these problems and how they can be solved.

    Attached Files:

  2. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Does this occur on any other browsers? I'm not having problems on ie9, Chrome, or the latest Firefox 4 beta.
  3. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    It works in IE. When I refresh it fixes it (temporarily). But it's just annoying to run into this so many times.
  4. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Yeah, it would be annoying. As a temporary workaround, could you use a different browser? Tbh, Bgizzle is the only one of us who will be able to see what the actual problem is.

    He isn't online atm, but I'm sure he will be soon.
  5. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    OK... Well, in the mean time, I'm going to dig through my addons/plugins and see if anything can cause it.
  6. iBricked

    iBricked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    On my chrome it just lags so much I can barely open more than 2 tabs and my iPod can open 6
  7. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Yeah, not a bad idea either.

    When did it start?
  8. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    Try Internet Explorer, you'll be a happy camper, knowing you use Chrome, then...

    Update: Disabled "Java Development Kit 6.0.170.4". Apparently it could cause stability and security issues. Don't remember when I installed it in the first place.

    But I'll test to make sure that it fixes it when I finish eating my noodles... (I'm SO Asian...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    About a week ago, I didn't install any addons/tweaks, but it just randomly started.
  9. bgizzle

    bgizzle Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    543
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    I use and test the site primarily on chrome and never experience this. Could you check what extensions you are running?

    @OP: Let us know if it continues after disabling the various extensions.
  10. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    That "Java Development Kit" seemed to be doing it. Thanks everyone for your help and support. I'll let you know if anything else arises...

Share This Page