Warning to those who downloaded 3.1.3

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by leadergo, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. leadergo

    leadergo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    6
    I recently downloaded the 3.1.3 firmware for my 3GS because I wanted to have a copy of it on my mac. I chose not to upgrade to it, and never to ask me again. So I go to use the washroom, and when I came back, my iPhone was 1/3 updated. iTunes automatically began updating my iPhone without my consent. I managed to get back to 3.1.2 with Saurik's ECID server thing, and it's working now on 3.1.2. But yeah, just be very careful if you have a copy of the 3.1.3 firmware.
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    theres already other threads like this already about not updating to 3.1.3
  3. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yeah but there are no threads...

    about itunes being a freaking self aware program that doesnt need your authorization to do stuff

    darn you damn crapple
  4. kingcoolryan

    kingcoolryan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    yum crapple...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ... yeah i would be pissed
  5. maxam

    maxam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Complain to Apple. They have no right to update you iPhone unless you say they can.
  6. brendanm

    brendanm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    I have a question, did you download it through iTunes? Becuase if you did, it's supposed to automatically update.
  7. Best Name Ever

    Best Name Ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    no.
    its supposed to ask you to download only, or download and install.
    he clicked download only.
    which means its supposed to only download the firmware.
    its not supposed to update, which is complete bullsh*t that it did.
  8. leadergo

    leadergo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    6
    yep, that pretty much summed it all up.

    --

    what if i let my friend charge his 3GS on my mac? i think it would probly update that too without his consent. i don't mind knowing this now, but if it happened with a friend, he would've freaked.
  9. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    It also deletes all other firmwares automatically. I haven't downloaded 3.1.3 but in my trash can I repeatedly find all other ipod firmwares that I downloaded from iTunes in my trash can.
  10. dre@ms

    dre@ms Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    For this reason, I have unchecked auto sync and open iTunes when iPT or Iphone is detected.

    I plug in my iPT or iPhone and iTunes sleeps.

Share This Page