Warning: Jailbreaking iPhones Using 10.5.6 MacBooks Can Bite You Later

Discussion in 'Latest Tech News and Rumors' started by skiier239, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. skiier239

    skiier239 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Gizmodo has reported that there are problems that you can run into if you modified your MacBook with the Automator script (to allow jailbreaking on OS X 10.5.6) and then updated QuickTime with the latest update (7.6).

    Thankfully, there is a simple solution for those of you who have run the Automator script but not applied the QuickTime update. The full details are at the Gizmodo article here
  2. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    I had this problem when I tried to install some lame printer software. I call bluff.
  3. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if I did both ?

    EDIT - I just realized I haven't applied the update yet.
    But how do I reverse the DFU script

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. skiier239

    skiier239 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Do you mean both the OS X update and the QuickTime update?

    EDIT - From the Giz article:
  5. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the DFU update , and the OS X update , but the quicktime update isn't applied yet.
    How do you reverse the DFU ?
  6. skiier239

    skiier239 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
  7. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know of a way to test what kext you have ?
    I replaced the kexts in the script (10.5.5) with the 10.5.6 scripts and I ran the script normally.
    I wanna make sure I have the right kext before I do anything.
  8. skiier239

    skiier239 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. If it helps, my "IOUSBFamily" kext is version 3.2.7 (Found by going to /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext and right-clicking and the selecting "Get Info"). My MacBook has been updated to OS X 10.5.6 and has not had the QuickTime update applied. I have also not modified any kexts manually or through a script.
  9. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is 3.2.7 as well.
    So that means it's all updated ?
    What is the IOUSBCompositeDriver.kext ?
    They were included but I can't find it in the system extensions folder.

    And what about the AppleUSBHub.kext ?
  10. skiier239

    skiier239 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    If you right-click IOUSBFamily.kext and select "Show Package Contents" and then browse to /Contents/Plugins you will be able to find both AppleUSBHub.kext and IOUSBCompositeDriver.kext.

    Im not sure what you should do as im not familiar with the Automator script that has been used by you and many others as I never downloaded it.

    If you have the "Backup_IOUSBFamily_kext_10_5_6" folder on your desktop or anywhere on your Mac then I suggest you try doing what Gizmodo says and copy the files from the "Backup_IOUSBFamily_kext_10_5_6" folder to the "Install_IOUSBFamily_kext_10_5_5" and run the script again. This should allow you to update to the latest version of QuickTime without running into any of the problems.

Share This Page