Want to throw it through the window!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Blondebond, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. Blondebond

    Blondebond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I was always against Ipods, but gave in and bought an Ipod touch for my son for Christmas. Big mistake! Either I am blonde and stupid or it is faulty!

    I use a PC. Ive put the usb in the Ipod touch and attached to PC. All I see is an image of a USB cable and a itunes. It does nothing else!

    I have installed Itunes, moved all my collection into it. Ive updated the version. I have followed all of apples diagnostics and still can't work out where I am going wrong!

    Ive closed it down using the red bar thing and when I start it up it shows that there is a lock on the screen. Could this be why it is not operating? If so, how do you remove the lock?

    My Archos is much easier to use!

    Please help me someone!
  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Have you plugged your iPod into iTunes?
  3. Blondebond

    Blondebond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed itunes, but the Ipod touch isnt doing anything. It is not talking to the PC.
  4. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    When you plug in your iPod touch and open up iTunes does it show the iPod touch under the devices menu on the left side of iTunes?
  5. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Try a different USB port.
  6. meepo

    meepo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    could the lock you're talking about, be the one that says slide to unlock? Don't mean to insult your intelligence or anything.
  7. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trust me, it's the lock screen

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Well, first off.
    Turn the iPod on with the power (top) button.
    When the "slide to unlock" screen" appears, go ahead and unlock it.

    Take the USB cable, plug it into the iPod, and then the computer.
    If iTunes does not pop up, then open it up manually and wait.
    ^If the "Device" tab still does not appear, then reboot
    (Hold down the Home and Power (top) button for 10 seconds)
    And if that doesn't work, follow what Meikura said and change USB ports, he's British so he's automatically 100% correct :\

    By the way, this image

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    means it needs to be connected to iTunes, so follow the above and you should be set.
  8. Blondebond

    Blondebond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Gamma

    Gamma Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It's already connected; he says he's turned it off using the "red bar thingy"

    So all you have to do is actually slide where it says to.

    Attached Files:

    • aweg.png
      aweg.png
      File size:
      132.8 KB
      Views:
      119
  10. Blondebond

    Blondebond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I turn it off I get the slide to turn off. This is all I have seen on the unit. There is no slide to unlock.

    Urgggghhhhhhhh!

Share This Page