Want to duplicate app

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by benman, Jun 28, 2008.

  1. benman

    benman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm trying to add a duplicate of textreader to my ipod touch so that i can have two separate groups of settings (one for reading english and one for reading chinese). I saved the app to my mac and renamed it and then tried to load it with iNdipendence. but it doesn't show up on my spring board. any ideas?
  2. f1av0rflave

    f1av0rflave Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    5
    install it with installer. then get a backup and rename it and ssh it into the applications folder
  3. TheDuke1122

    TheDuke1122 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    That looks exactly like what he said he did. Is there anything else?
  4. f1av0rflave

    f1av0rflave Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    5
    oh. i think you have to edit the plist file also and rename wherever it says textreader to whatever you name the app
  5. TheDuke1122

    TheDuke1122 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    There we go. I knew there was something else. Thanks flav.
  6. benman

    benman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i found this string in the info.plst file:

    <string>textReader</string>

    and i changed it to

    <string>textReaderEng</string>

    and renamed the file to textReaderEng.app.

    i used iNdependence to load the app onto my touch, but it still doesn't show up in springboard.

    any ideas?

Share This Page