Wanna learn to make apps, should i learn flash and port games, or learn C

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by scottgoodz, Dec 5, 2007.

?

Which path should I take to learn app development? (see below)

1. Option 1

3 vote(s)
    13.6%
  2. Option 2

10 vote(s)
    45.5%
  3. Other

1 vote(s)
    4.5%
  4. Go die, if you don't know now you shouldn't even try. (this way you don't all have to type it out!)

8 vote(s)
    36.4%
  1. scottgoodz

scottgoodz New Member

Wanna learn to make apps, should i learn flash and port games, or learn C++

I want to learn to make apps. I have no experience in scripts or coding. I would like to be making simple games ASAP. How long would this take? However, I am very patient, a fast typer, fast learner, and great at memorization.

Should I (don't flame, I know i dont know what I'm talking about)-

Option 1

1.Learn Java/Actionscript
    2.Make the game in Flash
    3.Port or compile or whatever to ipod format

Option 2

1. Learn OpenGL ED (please explain what this is.)
    2. Learn C++
    3. Make the game directly for ipod touch

I would like to be making simple games ASAP.

How long would each take?
    Which would be more useful in the end?
    Where would you start (links)?

any other info would be great.
  2. scottgoodz

scottgoodz New Member

I want to learn to make apps. I have no experience in scripts or coding. I would like to be making simple games ASAP. How long would this take? However, I am very patient, a fast typer, fast learner, and great at memorization.

Should I (don't flame, I know i dont know what I'm talking about)-

Option 1

1.Learn Java/Actionscript
    2.Make the game in Flash
    3.Port or compile or whatever to ipod format

Option 2

1. Learn OpenGL ED (please explain what this is.)
    2. Learn C++
    3. Make the game directly for ipod touch

I would like to be making simple games ASAP.

How long would each take?
    Which would be more useful in the end?
    Where would you start (links)?