Volume Cap

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by akki007, May 3, 2009.

  1. akki007

    akki007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Simple question...Is there an app that will remove the EU volume cap? If there is, what repo is it in?

    If there isn't an app, is there an alternative?

    Many many thanks.
  2. sdschramm

    sdschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    There is no "cap" the only "cap" is the setting called "volume limit" under "music" in settings.app - if that is off, then that is as loud as it gets.

    But really, why do you need to play music THAT loud?
  3. Lounge Deluxe

    Lounge Deluxe New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use big head phones that normally would need an amplifier, the Touch simply won't play them loud enough.

    EU versions of all iPods do have some sort of software cap, and turning the volume limit setting on or off has nothing to do with that unfortunately.
  4. akki007

    akki007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    My touch is an EU version and volume capped due to French legislation. I dont want to play music THAT loud, I want to power high impedence headphones.
  5. sdschramm

    sdschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
  6. akki007

    akki007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    thanks, I'm well aware of headphone amplification but what I asked was...how do I remove the volume cap on my EU touch?!
  7. NeSEncHo

    NeSEncHo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somewhere I had read that you need to modify VolumeRegionalLimits.plist in Celestial.framework... Dunno if it works. I also heard there was something you could download from Cydia. Again, no idea if it works.
  8. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    You have to SSH into System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Celestial.framework/RegionalVolumeLimits.plist

    Then you need a plist editor to edit all the .8xx numbers to 1 then ssh it back in.

    I use plist editor for Windows.
  9. akki007

    akki007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Thanks! That's what I was looking for. There used to be an app you could download that would just remove the cap, seems to have died a death though.
  10. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Volume boost ?

Share This Page