voice recognition on ipod touch 2g?!?!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by FluffyofDoom, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. FluffyofDoom

    FluffyofDoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    4
    is it possible to duplicate the recognition software from google mobile.app and implement it with a double click feature

    then we could have voice recognition almost like the iphone 3gs

    we could write notes without typing!!
  2. Alpacaman

    Alpacaman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Probably. I don't see anything stopping it
  3. FluffyofDoom

    FluffyofDoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    4
    that would be cool.......just enabled it in my touch and it barely misses the spelling lol
  4. iTouchGuru

    iTouchGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Really? Howd you do it?

    I can SSH, just what do I copy?
  5. greysn0w

    greysn0w Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    how did you do that

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ?
  6. FluffyofDoom

    FluffyofDoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    4
    this is how you do it:
    note: you will need a plist editor

    find /var/mobile/Applications -name "Google.app"

    you will find something like this
    /var/mobile/Applications/D9ACA198-F9F6-4BA8-A49B-55DBB6A5072C/Google.app

    then goto /var/mobile/Applications/D9ACA198-F9F6-4BA8-A49B-55DBB6A5072C/Library/Preferences, download com.google.GoogleMobile.plist to your PC/MAC,

    find

    <key>kGMOPrefVoiceSearch</key>
    <false/>

    Change false to true. save and upload this file to over write the original one.

    after that you have it enabled go into google and the voice thing is at the top right

    make sure you have plugged in a mic though

    then look and see that it barely misses the spelling
  7. ShizerMonkey

    ShizerMonkey Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Would that work on an Iphone 3G !!
  8. FluffyofDoom

    FluffyofDoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    4
    it should all be the same so yes
  9. number1kgfan

    number1kgfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Does this work with the iPod touch 3rd generation

    I just edited my plist file, and now in the app settings page is says that voice search is ON, but voice search does not work when I tap the mic icon on the search page. Has Google put new restrictive barriers on this hack?
  10. deepdvd

    deepdvd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I get the same problem. Voice Search is turned to "ON", but it still says "Voice Search is only available for iPhone" in Settings.

    There has to be a way around this.

Share This Page