voice control on iPhone 3G/2G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by flyingguitar, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    I personally think that it is stupid that apple would give the iPhone 3GS voice control but not the 2G/3G even though they both have the hardware to support it.

    That being said I think it would be appreciated by the majority of the iPhone 2G/3G users including myself if an iPhone 3GS owner with SSH installed could search around in SSH for the voice control application and post it up here and we can test if it would work on the older iPhone models (I would check it the applications directory first

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ) and if it works on the old iPhone's without modification that would be great

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    , if not I'm sure the dev's on here could port it in a heartbeat.

    thanks guys

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. willdacracka

    willdacracka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Our processors can't keep up with the voice control. You could probably get it manageable if you had absolutely nothing extra on the phone like music or apps, but that would still have it running at bare minimum
  3. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    it doesn't need THAT much memory, the iPhone 3G could defiantly support it. There are even apps on the appstore, like vlingo, that use voice control (even though it isn't as powerful as apple's it works)

    it is defiantly possible and if not it is at least worth a try
  4. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    im hoping someone makes a mod on the 3gs voice control and adds to cydia, then i will jailbrak eiphone also same with videos.
    no offence but i dislike cycorder, kinda ugly

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    sorry
  5. twigster9

    twigster9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The 2G and 3G have the same processor. I'm guessing it could be do e but I dunno. I doubt someone will post it because it's Apple copyrighted code.
  6. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    I forgot about that

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    pm maybe??
  7. xboxfox

    xboxfox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    download ipsw, turn to .zip and find voice control, ssh into iphone 3g and boom! just a thought
  8. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The 2G and 3G can handle it, but not how you plan.

    They cant just get the voice control app and other related coding from the 3GS, because of the new processor there are different architectures used. You can get the data off, but ti wont work on the older models.
  9. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    3G compiled applications don't work on the 3G and 2G because they use a different processor and were compiled differently. At least, when I tried it. I got a "bad cpu type" error, which is pretty obvious.
  10. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6

    well I'm sure you could 'port' it to the other processor

Share This Page