VirtualBox Ubuntu Stuck At "GRUB loading" help?

Discussion in 'Android Chat' started by desenagrator, May 11, 2010.

  1. desenagrator

    desenagrator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    ok Im trying to put android on my iPhone 2G and when I start the machine it says on the screen "GRUB loading" I'v waited for 15 minutes and still nothing!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    any help? thanks!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Is this the first time you have used this virtual box? I think you may have installed Ubuntu on your virtual box because it shouldn't even need grub.
  3. desenagrator

    desenagrator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    idk I just went by the instructions and went to machine - new and added Ubuntu. and yes this is my first time.
  4. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Well I'm guessing that when you installed Ubuntu you didn't click "Use entire disk for installation" (don't worry it doesn't really use the entire disk just the space you allocated for the Virtual Machine)
  5. desenagrator

    desenagrator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    When do I select that?
  6. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Tell me step by step what you have done so far.
  7. desenagrator

    desenagrator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Ok I killed "iTunesHelper.exe"

    Then I installed ubuntu-9.10.vdi, iDroid_images, idroid-release-0.1a, and VirtualBox.

    Then I put ramdisk.img, userdata.img, cache.img, zImage, insystem.img, and android.img.gz in the root directory in iPhone Explorer.

    Then I installed Virtual Box and ran it.

    Then I went to File - Virtual Machine Manager

    Then I clicked "Add" under "Hard Disk"

    Then I added "ubuntu-9.10.vdi" and selected it

    Then I closed it

    Then I went to Machine - New

    Then Under Name I entered "Ubuntu"

    Then I Selected "Linux Operating System" and "Select Ubuntu Version"

    Then I clicked next

    Then I set the amount of RAM to default

    Then I clicked next

    Then I selected "Use existing hard disk"

    Then I clicked next then finish

    Then I started it up and its stuck at "GRUB loading"


    Do you have Skype or something so it would be easier to contact you?
  8. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Yes I do have Skype

    PM'd you

Share This Page