"Virtual" Ram

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by sonlen, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. sonlen

    sonlen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So I don't know if it is even possible, but I think for anyone who has a 2 gen iPod Touch or lower knows how much it takes to run more then 1 thing at a time, plus emulators run better with more ram, so wouldn't it be a good idea to make a program that you can set aside so much internal memory to use as "virtual" ram? If anyone knows someone who could possibly make it, I know for a fact that there will be alot of people who will greatly appreciate it, me for one.
  2. NitroBum

    NitroBum Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    do you mean using some of your 16 GB of internal storage space as RAM instead?
  3. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yes its called a VM mod, im using it, you might also want to know it will kill your ipod within a year or 2. I reccomend the plist version tho.
  4. NitroBum

    NitroBum Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    how so?
  5. SoBe

    SoBe Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It won't kill it within a year or two. It'll take longer than that.
  6. Dabone

    Dabone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
  7. thedj

    thedj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I really want to try this on my 3GS because I multi task like crazy, but I dont want my iphone to die

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I don't think a 3GS would need it.
  9. Dabone

    Dabone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah the 3gs doesnt need it unless you want to background 7+ apps probably
  10. thedj

    thedj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I can background 16 apps in its current state, but for doing around 40 apps then this would be useful

Share This Page