Using WinSCP instead of putty?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by stewiegriffin10210, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. stewiegriffin10210

    stewiegriffin10210 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i use WinSCP instead of using putty? because putty doesnt seem to never work for me
  2. nyjets21

    nyjets21 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think u probabally can but i highly reccomend using putty if u need any help i can help you out
  3. stewiegriffin10210

    stewiegriffin10210 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm well winscp doesnt want to work for me either...... crap -.- i dont know what im doing wrong i keep getting some kind of connection error like when i use putty it says network error:connection refused

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. nyjets21

    nyjets21 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmmmmm r u sure ur typing in ur ipods ip adress and not ur computers
  5. stewiegriffin10210

    stewiegriffin10210 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    comps ip address: 192.168.1.40
    iPoT's ip address: 192.168.1.45

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. nyjets21

    nyjets21 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow beats me...sorry man i really wanna help u out but i cant think of anything ill do a little research and if i find anything useful ill let u know
  7. stewiegriffin10210

    stewiegriffin10210 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm i just found something interesting

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    "When you're done, SSH into your iPhone from the Terminal by typing ssh -l root your.iphones.ip.address. When asked the password is alpine. If it gives a fuss, you may need to remove the "known_hosts" file from /Users/YourUser/.ssh/"

    how do i remove that file and what do i use?

Share This Page