Using Ssh To Add Iphone Apps, Step By Step Guide.

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by beeeen, Nov 5, 2007.

1. beeeen

beeeen New Member

ok. so I just recently bought an iPod touch. I am new to SSH, cyberduck, and hacking. I had no idea how to use SSH or cyberduck, and I see tons of people have the same problems I did. I know there is already a thread on adding iphone apps to the ipod, but the instructions are vague so i will do my best to explain them step by step.

1- make sure your ipod is jailbroken, and has SSH installed. At the same time, make sure you have cyberduck installed. I will only be dealing with cyberduck, I don't know other ftp clients.

2- download this http://www.sharebig.com/share.php?id=s4bcbekqmkJEHKPB or http://www.[PIRACY.mu].com/?d=GN9CKYJX. I do NOT take credit for these files. It came from this thread: http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1659. Unzip those files and place them on your desktop.

3- On your iPhone, make sure SSH is turned ON. Open cyberduck. Click on open connection

BY THE WAY: Having my iPod connected to my computer made this work easier than having it not connected. I'm not sure if this makes a difference, but I would recommend connecting it.

4- After clicking "open connection" under protocol select SFTP. Now, make sure your touch is connected to wifi. On your touch, go to settings > wifi> and under network click the BLUE ARROW. It will take you to a new page with IP address. It should be a 10 numbers looking like xxx.xxx.x.xxx. Copy that IP address into the server bar. Port should equal 22

5- For the iPod touch, the user name is ROOT. The passwod is ALPINE. Click CONNECT. It should take a few second to connect to the files of your iPod touch.