Using 'real' peripherals?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Javarod, Nov 21, 2009.

1. Javarod

Javarod New Member

Ok, newbie here, and i don't see a forum specifically for hardware questions, so i'll toss this here.

Title says it mostly, but by real peripherals, i mean an actual monitor and keyboard. This sounds crazy until you realize that my entire computer use consists of:

email
    web surfing
    watching the occasional movie (mostly saved, but occasionally streaming)
    listening to music
    chatting with friends via IM

I use a wireless connection to the internet, wifi at home, and some manner of cellular modem when i'm on the road (fairly heavily). Obviously for the later that iPhone might do better, but i'm stuck in a contract for another year. With that said, as you see, my computer needs are quite modest, and it seems to me that a Touch would do the job just fine on the road, although at times it'd be nice to dock it into a larger monitor and a real keyboard. Is that something even possible? I don't think i've ever seen anything about doing that, nor heard anyone ask the same question.

Thanks,
  2. Maxtcc

Maxtcc Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Interesting Question. I would think that in the 3gen iPod touch the bluetooth should handle a bluetooth keyboard and mouse with pairing. as for the monitor their are cable for porting to rca inputs(red yellow white), composite video so that is no problem and or docking it with the appropriate dock with video output. I gave away my bt keyboard when I abandoned my pc. maybe i should borrow it and try this out.
    Has Anybody here tried this?

For files and such I just do them on my mac and then send them wirelessly to my iPod , so on second thought, I don't particularly think that I would have a use for this, most typing I do for things on the iPod are short and the landscaped keyboard is sufficient in size.

What would you use the keyboard for e-mails? or what?
  3. Javarod

Javarod New Member